A Hint of Nostalgia

With just a little over one month left in D.C., I’ve been thinking about the move ahead. While I’m incredibly excited for the move to Louisiana, I have been a bit nostalgic as I reflect upon the last two years in Washington. Here are a few of the things that I will sadly leave behind as well as a few things that I am happy to bid farewell.

Things that I will miss about DC

  • The Neighborhoods – Each distinctly different, I will miss the shops in Georgetown, the hipsters of U Street, the politics of Capital Hill, the trendiness of Logan Circle, the rowdiness of Adams Morgan, the warmth of Glover Park, the sophistication of Dupont, and yes, even the neighborhoods of Arlington.
  • The Metro – It’s nice not to need a car.
  • Whole Foods – I will miss this less because of the organic produce and more because of the lavish prepared foods section that has sustained me for two years. I have eaten absurdly healthy without ever really needing to turn on my oven or clean a pan.
  • Running Trails and Routes – I will desperately miss running along Rock Creek, the Mt. Vernon Trail, at Roosevelt Island, around the Monuments, and over the Key Bridge at sunset.
  • The Politics – You know you’ve lived in D.C. long enough when you’re out to dinner and you get excited when you’ve identified a Supreme Court Justice at a table nearby. Yes, this happened.
  • Georgetown Cupcake – Consuming the Chocolate 2 or the Lava Fudge is a semi-religious experience. Yes, these cupcakes are that good. No, I don’t want to hear your argument for Baked & Wired or any other cupcake shop. Let’s just agree to disagree.
  • The Mighty Pint – The funniest nights of my life have occurred at this bar. I’m not sure if it was the people, the bar, or both, but this is easily my favorite nightspot in D.C.
  • Sweet Green – If I had any skills in the kitchen I would desperately try to recreate the Chic P and/or Guacamole Greens salads on my own.
  • Rooftops – Nothing says summertime quite like cocktails overlooking the city.
  • Girls on the Run DC –  Being part of GOTR-DC has impacted my life as much as it has impacted the girls we work with.
  • How the city overreacts to snow – An inch of snow in the forecast? You can definitely count on having the day off and sleeping in. Here’s to excessive and unnecessary snow days.
  • The city pulse – What I’ll miss most of all is that feeling you get just as it gets dark and the city lights up and there’s that electric buzz in the air and you look around think I’m part of this. 

Things that I will NOT miss about DC

  • The Traffic – My blood pressure will finally return to normal levels when I will no longer need to allot 45 minutes to drive 1.5 miles.
  • Obnoxious Cyclists – Demanding the road privileges of an automobile while abusing the rights of pedestrians, the D.C. cyclists clog up traffic patterns, terrorize the sidewalks and do all of this while yelling rudely and ringing their annoying bike bells. I am very happy to leave the aggressive cyclists of D.C. behind.
  • Condescending Hill Staffers – Some, but not all, of the Hill workers are very skilled at making you feel like an uneducated ignoramus while simultaneously reminding (and relieving) you of why you never pursued that Political Science degree.
  • The Metro – It’s nice not to need a car… but it would much sweeter if the metro arrived when you wanted, didn’t break down, or took you somewhere you actually wanted to go.
  • The Fashion – In this city I have seen far too many power suits paired with sneakers. Comfort is never worth sacrificing all self-dignity.
  • Snow – Finally! No more Ugg Boots and heavy winter coats needed for winters in Shreveport!
  • Parking – If you’re even lucky enough to get street parking in D.C., a quarter in the meter will get you… 8 minutes? I am looking forward to free parking and ample parking spaces in Shreveport.
  • The rent prices – Now that I will no longer be putting my entire salary towards rent, I will actually be able to do something I thought was impossible: save money.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Share your thoughts!

