The truth about packing

Last  night I woke up in a sweat after my first moving nightmare: The movers arrived early and I hadn’t packed one thing.

I know that I’m not alone because apparently moving is frequently cited as one of the most stressful life events that you can endure after the death of a loved one, a divorce, or an illness.

I’m not actually stressed out about the move, per say. I’m stressed out about the packing. So to alleviate some of the packing stress, I am cleaning out my apartment, room by room. The less I have, then the less I have to pack.

Here are just a few of the things that are NOT making the move with me:

  • Cookware. Not that I cook much, but if my beach days sans sunscreen haven’t given me cancer, then these rusty pans most definitely have.
  • Praxis Textbooks. I might not even donate these books. I might burn them and watch them die a slow and painful death. I’m kidding! … kind of.
  • Clothes that don’t fit. Every woman does this. We save outfits for the “what ifs”… What if I gain weight? What if I lose weight? What if someone invites me on a last minute trip to Vegas and I need a hot pink mini-dress? Not this time. I’m donating everything that hasn’t been worn in the last 10 months. This will easily eliminate 5 boxes worth of junk.

And here is one thing that IS making the move with me (although it definitely shouldn’t):

  • Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child. This was an impulsive and reckless purchase after seeing Julie & Julia. I can barely make a grilled cheese and I’ve never used this 10-lb book, but its aqua cover looks nice against my white ladder bookcase. Plus, it fools unknowing visitors into thinking that I have domestic capabilities.
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The truth about packing

  1. Jenn

    OMG. Don’t throw away the Julia Child’s cook book. I will take it! Just you know…send it up the Mississippi

  2. Jenn

    P.S. You are so lucky you are getting your own place down in LA. Living with a boy stinks– compromising on decorating styles. My picturesque ideal of shabby chic white furniture has been shattered. Boo marriage and compromise.

    • Haha I think every girl has their decorating dreams crushed when they get married. I’m sure your home will be beautiful even if it’s not your original vision 🙂

Share your thoughts!

