Beware the fire ants

A Yankee would see this pile of dirt and think it was harmless. A true Southerner would know better.

Unfortunately, I found out the hard way that these seemingly innocent piles of dirt are home to thousands of fire ants. It wasn’t until my feet felt as though they had been set ablaze that I realized what was happening and had to practically crawl back indoors to safety.

I’m now realizing that cowboy boots aren’t so much a fashion statement as they are a necessary means of protection.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Beware the fire ants

  1. Keri

    You are cracking me up!!

  2. Pingback: The tragedy of my little garden | bavs on the bayou

Share your thoughts!

