Happy Thanksgiving!

This was a momentous occasion. I cooked my first turkey and I didn’t burn the building down. I didn’t even set off the smoke alarm. Not even once.

I started preparing everything on Wednesday night and almost vowed vegetarianism in the process. Note to readers: If you order an organic turkey from Williams-Sonoma, it will arrive with the giblets and gizzards and the NECK still in tact. As well as a few feathers. It took every ounce of resolve to unwrap the turkey and put it in my Alton Brown brine. Yuck.

Here is a recap in photos from the very first Southern Thanksgiving cooked by someone who should not be allowed near an oven.

My little helper. NOT. While I brined the turkey and mashed yams the night before in preparation for Thursday, Gidget passed out at about 6:30pm on Wednesday evening.

Basting the bird on Thursday afternoon. Almost ready for meal time while Gidget contemplates jumping in the oven to have a quick taste…

The digital thermometer says it’s done so it must be done, right?

My proudest moment, channeling a Norman Rockwell scene.

No, seriously. It’s perfect.

So perfect that I refuse to let anyone else touch it. Hands off. I’m carving the turkey. Don’t argue with the crazy lady holding a sharp knife.

Our makeshift Thanksgiving banquet table. Tres chic.

First course: Mixed greens salad. Yum.

Followed by… Corn bread stuffing, a Southern tradition. Although in the South they don’t call it stuffing, it’s “dressing.” Even Paula Deen calls her Corn Bread Stuffing a “dressing.”  It took me forever to figure this out. I still don’t fully understand.

Sautéed Green Beans.

Yams. With marshmallows. Is there any other way?

The carved turkey. Did I mention that I cooked this and the smoke alarm didn’t go off? It was quite a Thanksgiving feast.

Afterward, Gidget helped with the dishes.

I’m not sure if it was the 70° weather, the tryptophan, the food coma or a combination of all three, but we all found ourselves incapable of moving from the couch after dinner.

I surprised myself (and others) with how great everything tasted. Really. It was a perfect Thanksgiving.

I hope that everyone else enjoyed theirs as thoroughly 🙂 We have so much to be thankful for this year.

3 Comments

Filed under Southern Living

3 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. peter

    this is my favorite blog post to date. you, rich, gidg, and the food all look great! I had cornbread stuffing for the first time today compliments of the Ritz-Carlton employee dining room. I went back for seconds.

    p.s. are those dining room chairs the same ones from our basement?
    p.p.s. i love the chocolate turkeys on the table setting.

  2. Looks pretty great to me, good for you! Hope you had a happy holiday!

    Blanche

  3. Pingback: The OTHER victory from the BCS National Championship Game | bavs on the bayou

Share your thoughts!

