Strawberry Abita

I’ve learned from locals that springtime here can only be paired with one beverage and that is the Strawberry flavored lager from the local Louisiana brewery, Abita.

Strawberry Abita, the local springtime brew.

Trying to obtain a Strawberry Abita has given me pretty good insight into what it must have been like during prohibition. Local stores get shipments about once a week and they are usually sold out in a few hours.

So when I accidentally stumbled upon a store after it had just received their weekly allotment, I felt compelled to stock up for the season as if the apocalypse was nearing.

It’s good, it’s light, it has an interesting strawberry aftertaste without being sweet, but when I tasted it, I was kind of expecting something out-of-this-world-amazing because of all the hype.

When I mentioned this to a few people, they looked at me in disbelief. We agreed this might be one of those things that only locals “get.” Kind of like Yuengling in the Northeast.

2 Comments

Filed under Southern Living, Springtime in Shreveport

2 responses to “Strawberry Abita

  1. Jenn

    So Jared’s senior is from New Orleans/LSU and was talking it up to Jared at work. Last week he brought in a 6 pack for him. Jared of course tasted it when I was sick with the flu and congested. I tasted it…and due to my congestion, could not taste the strawberry flavor 😦

Share your thoughts!

