Rock ‘n’ Roll Dallas Half Marathon

On Sunday morning I completed the Rock ‘n’ Roll Dallas Half Marathon. The weather was hot and humid (check out the hair), but the course was gorgeous and the spectators were fantastic.

On more than one occasion I saw families outside their homes handing out cups of beer to runners. I was tempted a few times to take them up on their offer but I knew if I stopped running for even a second, that I would end up lying down on their front lawn and begging them to call a cab to take me back to Shreveport (note: my legs are still sore from Sunday).

I am not one of those vain runners who thinks that they look good while racing. I'm just posting pictures as evidence.

It was my 7th half marathon and I finished in 1:55:18. Not my best time, but not my worst time, either. I’m just glad I finished. The finisher’s medal is a metallic carving of cowboy boots. How Texas. It made the 13.1 mile trek worth it.

Still standing, a true measure of a successful race.

Leave a comment

Filed under Southern Living, Texas Roadtrips

Share your thoughts!

