A year of blogging

I’ve been thinking about this post for a while and I still haven’t decided how I want to write it. A year ago on May 19, 2011, I started this blog (read my very first post here). It began with my good-byes in D.C., followed by the cross-country trip to Louisiana, and has since chronicled my adjustment to life in Shreveport.

The short story is that this has been the most challenging year of my life.

The long story is that it has been a year of tremendous growth and I don’t think I can sum it up concisely in a witty blog post. Therefore, I am just going to put this post into a list, with just a few of the gems that detail what I’ve learned, what I never wrote about, what surprised me, and what blog posts still make me laugh out loud.

What I’ve learned – 

  • I now know how to light a hot water heater, empty the clean-out when the house floods, and reset a circuit breaker. Thank you, homeownership.
  • There is no need to call the exterminator every time a nest of fire ants emerges in your backyard. A pot of boiling water poured over their mound takes them out in seconds.
  • I don’t have a fear of spiders. It took a tarantula sighting, some black widows, and several brown recluses to cure me of this.
  • Cows don’t need to be fenced in if your yard has something called a “cattle stop” which is basically a ditch with bars over it.
  • A sign that reads “Trespassers will be shot” is not a joke when posted on a home in the South.
  • The Civil War is taught very differently in the North than it is in the South.
  • There is a difference between a “Bubba” and a “Redneck.” Email me and I’ll explain it to you as it was explained to me.

What I never wrote about – 

  • I cried in the beginning. A lot.
  • Gidget also had a rough adjustment. Because of the different allergens in the grass down here she is on a constant diet of benadryl and steroids. It took her breaking out in hives and a vet visit for me to realize this.
  • It took awhile to adjust to the Southern accents. Ask me about the hilarious “pill” versus “peel” story.
  • I have nightmares about tornadoes and swamp snakes ALL THE TIME.
  • I really miss certain foods such as bagels, falafels, and cannolis. I sometimes just crave a good bagel. Really.

What surprised me – 

  • There is no deodorant that is capable of handling the summer heat. This is an unfortunate reality I had to accept. Nor is there any such hair product for battling the humidity.
  • I now think that the entire cast of Jersey Shore has very thick accents. Prior to being surrounded to Southern drawls, I had never heard an accent on any of them before.
  • Very few people understand what I mean when I use any of the following terms: schlep, schvitz, schmuck, putz, or scutch (sp?). Bonus points to anyone who comments below with their correct meanings 🙂
  • I have actually grown to enjoy the country scenery. Really. In many ways, it’s very soothing.

The posts that still make me laugh out loud:

  • My formal complaint about the heat last summer: here.
  • The signage seen around Shreveport: here.

Thank you for reading all of my meanderings the last year! Six years left to go 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Southern Living

One response to “A year of blogging

  1. Regina Ingrassia

    Hi My Dear Beth Ann,
    I absolutely, love, love, love, your blog. It is very entertaining and truly brings a smile to my face. I am so intertested in your story of peel versus pill. I could use a good belly laugh! As enduring the life of a Floridian for more years than I care to remember, what is the difference between a redneck and a bubba? Also, it is always very inspiring to hear the tremendous amount of growth that follows lifes many challenges. Keep up the great work, Beth Ann. You are truly an amazing young woman. I look forward to seeing you very soon.

    All my love,
    Auntie Gina

    P.S. Jeff wants to know if you have eaten any cray fish. (Whatever that is)

Share your thoughts!

